CT PA-F Logo 2
 Mission Statement: The Foundation’s mission is to raise funds and provide scholarship money to qualified students who are enrolled in a  Connecticut Physician Assistant program or Connecticut residents attending an out of state Physician Assistant program.

Student Scholarships

Residents of the State of Connecticut attending an accredited  PA program or  students attending an accredited Physician Assistant program in Connecticut are eligible to apply for a scholarship. The Scholarship Committee will review all applications and awards will be announced at the Charter Oak Conference.

The PAF is now accepting scholarship applications for 2019.


Please Note: The deadline for receipt of the application in our office is February 1, 2019.

 The PAF Awards the 2017 Scholarships.

The CT Physician Assistant Foundation awarded $7,750 in scholarships to 10 PA students (9 to students in the three Connecticut PA programs and one to a Connecticut resident attending a program out of state).

The Foundation appreciates  all the PAs who attended the fund raisers this past year and to all the donors who made these scholarships possible.

Recipient Amount School
Baluka, Stephanie $          750.00 Yale
Bestall, Kelsey $          500.00 QU
Boguslawski, Anthony $          750.00 QU
Dimler, Collin $          500.00 QU
Guketlov, Rachel $          500.00 QU
Hopko, Lucy $          500.00 QU
Jackson, Pamela $      1,250.00 SHU
Rana, Sagar $          750.00 Touro California
Schwing, Catherine $      1,250.00 Yale
Suzuki, Yukari $      1,000.00 Yale
Johanna D’Addario  and Becky Orsulak (PAF Board Members) with Pamela Jackson, Sacred Heart University Winner
Yale Winners Beth Cuoco (PAF Board Member), Yukari Suzuki, Catherine Schwing, Stephanie Baluka, Becky Orsulak (PAF Board Member)
QU winners. L->R Becky Orsulak (PAF Board Member), Lucy Hopko, Kelsey Bestall, Collin Dimler, Anthony Boguslawski, Rachel Guketlov, Johanna D’Addario (PAF Board Member)

 PAF Holds Another Successful Bowl-A-Rama.

On February 24, 2017 the CT PAF hosted it’s Annual Bowl-a-Rama at Johnson’s Duckpin Lanes in Hamden, CT.  Students, faculty and friends from Bridgeport, Quinnipiac and Yale came together for a night of fun competition on the lanes!  The CT PAF would like to thank all of those who participated in or donated to the event for your dedication and support.  We are looking forward to awarding scholarships to ten PA students at the COC Business Luncheon on April 4th!

PAF Announces Charles Drew Morten Memorial Scholarship 

 Drew  Charles Drew Morten, 8/30/1952-3/16/2016

The CT PA Foundation has established a student PA scholarship in memory of Drew Morten PA-C who passed in March of this year.

Drew has been a key legislative advocate for PAs in CT for many years. He fought for favorable PA language within the state and advocated for PAs during his entire medical career. He was elected President of CONNAPA and previously the Missouri Academy of PAs. He was involved played a key role in changing policy and laws bolstering PA practice. His PA colleagues along with his family and friends will sincerely feel his absence.

The scholarship will be awarded to a PA student who exemplifies interest, action and advocacy for PA policy, scope of practice, and law.

Please consider a gift in Drew’s  memory.


The Foundation
The CT PA Foundation (PAF) is the philanthropic arm of the Connecticut Academy of Physician Assistants.  Incorporated in 1989, the Foundation was an outgrowth of the ConnAPA Scholarship Committee which began awarding scholarships in 1980. Of note is the fact that ConnAPA was the first state PA chapter to award a scholarship. Over the years, ConnAPA has given out thousands of dollars in PA school scholarships to Connecticut residents. The Foundation is governed by a Board of Trustees comprised of physician assistants and student representatives from each Physician Assistant Program in Connecticut.

All money raised is for the purpose of scholarships, which range from $300 to $1500.  Scholarship recipients are selected based on a review of their application, evaluating among other things their community service involvement, and their response to an essay question. PA Program verification of enrollment is required.  Scholarships are presented at the annual Charter Oak Conference sponsored by the Connecticut Academy of Physician Assistants.

The Foundation has held activities such as a Bowl-A-Rama. a Bike CT ride and a Martini and a Movie events to raise additional funds. Recently, the PAF held a Run for Education in conjunction with the Stratton Faxon Fairfield 5K , as well as the Half Marathon.  Since initiating these events, the Foundation has raised thousands of dollars for scholarships.

Board of Directors

President:     Becky Orsulak
Treasurer:    Johanna D’Addario
Secretary:     Beth Cuoco
Trustee:        Brennan Bowker
Trustee:        Carol Ekonomides
Trustee:        Courtney Fankhanel
Trustee:        Aisha Khan
Trustee:        Mike Moi
Trustee:        Rick Pope
Student Representatives:  Christina Carbone, Amy Wisnewski, Dana Rasmus, Corrine Morrison, Kaitlyn Mehern, Raymond Kreiger