ConnAPA PA Foundation Awards 2019 Scholarships at Charter Oak Conference


The PA Foundation’s highlight of the year so far was the first ever PAF Fundraiser held at the ConnAPA Charter Oak Conference. This year, we were fortunate to have been supported by Connecticut Orthopaedic Institute at Midstate Medical Center, who co-hosted the cocktail hour at the Mystic Aquarium on Monday, March 25th, 2019. Guests were able to enjoy cocktails and appetizers while admiring the sea life in the aquarium. Thank you to all of those who joined us or supported the PAF by participating in our basket raffle!

 On Tuesday, March 26th, at the ConnAPA Charter Oak Conference Annual Business Luncheon, CTPAF presented a total of $8,250 in scholarship money to nine deserving PA students from four PA Programs. In addition to the J. Jeff Heinrich Scholarship for excellence in community service and the Drew Morten Memorial Scholarship honoring dedication to leadership and advocacy, CTPAF was able to award an inaugural Connecticut Orthopaedic Institute Scholarship.  Below are the award winners for this year.


Stephanie Cyphers from Case Western University’s PA Program
Jaron Graeber from Quinnipiac University’s PA Program
Nicholas Patino from Quinnipiac University’s PA Program
Paxton Stein from Yale University’s PA Program
Elena Sullivan from Yale University’s PA Program
Julia Vanasse from Quinnipiac University’s PA Program
Meghan Burns from Yale University’s PA Program – Dr. J. Jeffrey Heinrich Scholarship
Ashton Ogle from Sacred Heart University’s PA Program – Drew Morten Memorial Scholarship
Jared Walsh from Quinnipiac University’s PA Program – Connecticut Orthopaedic Institute Scholarship


Members of ConnAPA and CTPAF L->R Alex Cieply, Andrew Turczak, Beth Cuoco, Mick Devanney,
Deborah Cooke, Mark Turczak, Aisha Khan, Becky Orsulak, Johanna D’Addario, Deanna Zimkus,
Jason Prevelige, Courtney Fankhanel, Brennan Bowker

Andrew Turczak, MHS, MBA, PA-C, Director of Operations Connecticut Orthopaedic Institute (L),
and Jared Walsh (R), Recipient of the Connecticut Orthopaedic Institute Scholarship



CT PAF Board of Directors (back row) and Scholarship Winners